The World’s Best Olive Oils will be Unveiled April 14

Home > News & Articles > Olive Oil Business News > The World’s Best Olive Oils will be Unveiled April 14

The New York International Olive Oil Competition is the largest, and most publicized olive oil quality competition in the world.

More than 700 entries from 25 countries are judged by an international panel of experts. The winning olive oils are coveted by chefs, food buyers and discerning consumers everywhere who value extra virgin olive oils of the very highest quality.

The world’s best olive oils were unveiled at a press conference just minutes ago at the International Culinary Center when event organizer and Olive Oil Times publisher Curtis Cord, renowned merchant Steve Jenkins of Fairway Market, the founder and CEO of the International Culinary Center, Dorothy Hamilton, and the chief judge of the competition, Gino Celletti, summarized before a packed room of media representatives from around the world, the winners of the 2013 New York International Olive Oil Competition.

awardsThe competition saw 702 extra virgin olive oil entries, 653 of which made it here from 22 countries in time for the judging. A grand total of 20 countries have taken home 260 awards from Best of Class, to Gold and Silver. The top three winning countries taking home the most overall awards include Italy, with 83 awards, Spain, with 51 awards, and the United States, with 36 awards.

Italy won big with 8 Best of Class Awards and an astounding 51 Gold Awards. Spain follows with 3 Best of Class Awards and 27 Gold Awards, two of which were claimed by Aceites Campoliva, S.L. Another 3 Best of Class were awarded to Australia, as well as 5 Gold Awards, two of which were collected by Rylstone Australian Olive Oil. Peru, New Zealand, and South Africa each received 1 Best of Class.

The United States received a total of 21 Gold Awards, 2 of which were taken by both Il Fiorello Olive Oil Company, and Apollo Olive Oil. Portugal followed with 16 Gold Awards, and Croatia with 8, while France, Greece, and Uruguay each earned 3 Golds Awards. Countries awarded with 1 Gold each include, Chile, Israel, Japan, Morocco, Peru, Slovenia, Tunisia, and Turkey.

Undeniably, the most notable mention went to Cobram Estate, the largest olive oil producer in Australia, and Frantoio Franci of Italy, both the winners of 2 Best of Class Awards.

Get Ticket to Attend

The World’s Best Olive Oils will be Unveiled April 14, 3.4 out of 10 based on 285 ratings

Post Views

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 3.4/10 (285 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +2 (from 114 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *